Return to Headlines

DPS Good News for March 3, 2020


to Mike Truzzy, music teacher at Eastway Elementary, Kidznotes Teacher of the Year! He was recognized at the 2020 Kidznotes Grow Gala in February.

Congratulations to Sherwood Githens Middle School and Rogers-Herr Middle School, whose statuses have been renewed as Schools to Watch by the NCMLE! Our Schools to Watch now include:

  • The School for Creative Studies (new this year)
  • Lowe’s Grove (since 2019)
  • Sherwood Githens (since 2017)
  • Lakewood Montessori (since 2015)
  • Rogers-Herr (since 2008)
  • Carrington (since 2007)

Congratulations to DPS Director of Strategic Planning Mathew Palmer! Mathew will be a panelist and plenary contributor at the National Conference on School Integration March 26-27 in Washington, DC. He will participate on a panel titled “Levers and Intersections: Developing and Advocating for Federal, State, and Local Integration Policy.”

Congratulations to the following teachers who earned or renewed certification from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards!

Initial certification

  • Teresa Parkinson, Easley Elementary
  • Ashley Van Noppen, Forest View Elementary
  • Christie Hawkins, George Watts Montessori
  • Latoya Clay Henry, Hillside High School
  • Evangela Leshawn Richardson, Lakeview Secondary
  • Blythe L. Hutchinson, Lakewood Elementary
  • Camellia R. Fleming, Middle College High School
  • Lauren Nicole Casteen, Northern High School
  • Mary Margaret Mills, Northern High School 
  • Sharon Farrar Johnson, Northern High School 
  • Amy Sudol, Parkwood Elementary 
  • Krystal C Brothers, Parkwood Elementary


  • Alanna R. McClary, Brogden Middle
  • Kristen Pike, Carrington Middle School
  • Brian McDonald, Charles E. Jordan High School
  • Steve Jones, City of Medicine Academy
  • Denise F Baynham, Club Blvd Humanities Magnet
  • Holly Buchanan Fishback, Club Blvd Humanities Magnet
  • Elizabeth Husketh, Club Boulevard
  • Lindsey Williams, Creekside
  • Miriam M. Prather, CTE/SDC
  • Nicole Sennett, Forest View
  • Rhonda K. Faircloth, Forest View
  • Amanda Mallard Watson, George Watts
  • Caroline Herbert, Hillside High School
  • Dana M Hodges, Hillside High School
  • Thomas DePeal, Hope Valley
  • Shakira Hasan Anderson, Hope Valley Elementary School
  • Joy C. Clark, JD Clement Early College High School
  • Karen Rankins, Josephine Dobbs Clement Early College High School 
  • Theresa Torian, Little River K-8 School
  • Jennifer Harrison, Morehead Montessori
  • Ca'lita Virgil, Pearsontown
  • Shani N. Thompson, Pearsontown 
  • Matthew Smith, Riverside High School
  • Angela Teal, Shepard IB Magnet Middle School 
  • Susan Pape, Southwest Elementary School
  • Sherri Harris, W.G. Pearson

Congratulations to Chef John Boretti, teacher of culinary arts at Northern High, who is the first high school teacher recipient of the Chef Educator of the Year award from the Raleigh-Durham Area Chefs Association, the largest chapter of the American Culinary Federation. The American Culinary Federation Chef Educator of the Year award pays tribute to an active culinary educator whose knowledge, skills and expertise have enhanced the image of the professional chef, and who, by example, has given leadership, guidance and direction to students seeking a career in the culinary profession.