Return to Headlines

10 DPS Magnet Schools Earn Honors

A total of 10 Durham Public Schools magnet schools have been notified that their programs have earned merit awards for meeting the high standards set forth by Magnet Schools of America, the national organization for magnet programming. 

Schools of Excellence honors were bestowed upon:

  • Burton IB Elementary School

  • Durham School of the Arts

  • George Watts Montessori Elementary School

  • Southern School of Energy and Sustainability

  • The School for Creative Studies

Schools of Distinction honors were bestowed upon: 

  • City of Medicine Academy

  • Lakewood Montessori Middle School

  • Lowe’s Grove Middle School

  • Middle College High School at Durham Tech

  • Neal Middle School

To receive a national merit award, members of Magnet Schools of America must submit a detailed application that is scored by a panel of educators. These schools are judged on their demonstrated ability to raise student academic achievement, promote racial and socioeconomic diversity, provide integrated curricula and instruction, and create strong family and community partnerships that enhance the school’s magnet theme.

To learn more about the national merit awards program, please visit