Return to Headlines

DPS Schools Earn National Merit Award


Nine Durham Public Schools have earned recognition from Magnet Schools of America (MSA) for demonstrating commitment to high academic standards, curriculum innovation, successful desegregation and diversity efforts, and consistent delivery of high quality educational services to all stakeholders. The schools and their designations follow:

  • Neal Magnet Middle School: School of Excellence
  • Club Boulevard Humanities Magnet: School of Distinction
  • City of Medicine Academy: School of Distinction
  • The School for Creative Studies: School of Distinction
  • Southern School of Energy and Sustainability: School of Distinction
  • Middle College High School at Durham Technical Community College: School of Distinction
  • Lakewood Montessori Middle: School of Distinction 
  • Lowe’s Grove Magnet Middle School (program within a school): School of Distinction
  • Burton Magnet Elementary School: School of Distinction

“I am proud of these schools for continuing to innovate in support of our students,” said Dr. Pascal Mubenga, Superintendent of Durham Public Schools. “We use magnet programs to increase the variety of options for Durham families, and we look forward to continuing the conversation with our community about the best way to foster overall excellence and equity in academics and student well-being in every school.”