Title I

  • Title I is the largest federal education program, founded in 1965 as the Elementary and Secondary Education Act  (ESEA), reauthorized as part of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 (NCLB), and amended as the Elementary and Secondary Education Act.  This federally funded program provides financial assistance to schools with high percentages of students who are economically disadvantaged, to help ensure that all students meet academic achievement standards.    Title I is intended to help ensure that all children have the opportunity to obtain a high quality education and reach grade-level proficiency on challenging state academic standards and assessments.  Title I funds provide a variety of services, which may include:  hiring additional teachers and support staff, offering tutoring services, creating and maintaining computer labs, offering opportunities for parental involvement, planning professional development, purchasing materials and supplies, and supporting pre-kindergarten programs. 


    Title I Schools

    Durham Public Schools currently has 30 schools that have school-wide Title I programs.  A school-wide Title I school must have 40% or more of the student population receiving free or reduced lunch.  The schools listed below currently have school-wide Title I school programs:

Title I Elementary Schools

Title I Middle Schools

Title I Focus/Priority Schools

Title I School Improvement Grant (SIG) Schools