About SIT

  • The RHMS School Improvement Team (SIT) brings together representatives from all RHMS stakeholder groups: teachers from all teams and grade levels, parents, administrators, and community members. The team's main responsibility is developing and implementing the School Improvement Plan (SIP), which keeps the school focused throughout the year on overall improvement and success for every child. The SIP is a unique plan, refined annually, that defines a school’s targeted work to raise achievement for all our students. Our SIP is guided by twelve key indicators which include a set of key strategies aimed at measurable, research-based goals, monitored throughout the year, in the following five areas:

    • Instructional Excellence and Alignment
    • Leadership Capacity
    • Professional Capacity
    • Planning and Operational Effectiveness
    • Families and Community

    If you are interested in learning more please view/download our SIP at this link, after which you must input the following as both the username and password:

    • Username & Password: GuestS16157

SIT members

  • Members of the SIT are elected at the beginning of each school year and serve 2-year terms. If you are interested in serving on the School Improvement Team, please contact the SIT chairperson.

    Role Member Email
    Chair Catherine Hazelton catherine_hazelton@dpsnc.net
    Process Manager Ernetta Cagle ernetta_cagle@dpsnc.net
    Principal Kecia Rogers kecia_rogers@dpsnc.net
    Assistant Principal
    Tawauna Stewart tawauna_stewart@dpsnc.net
    Assistant Principal
    Otis Maben otis_maben@dpsnc.net
    Voyagers Teacher Catherine Hazelton catherine_hazelton@dpsnc.net
    Navigators Teacher Karen Briggs karen_briggs@dpsnc.net
    Pathfinders Teacher Nikia Glass nikia_glass@dpsnc.net
    Pioneers Teacher Heetal Majmudar heetal_majmudar@dpsnc.net
    Dreamseekers Teacher Keaundra Robinson keaundra_robinson@dpsnc.net
    Explorers Teacher Jasmine Adams jasmine_adams@dpsnc.net
    EC Teacher CJ Neal christine_neal@dpsnc.net
    Counselor Chancie Chaney chancie_chaney@dpsnc.net
    Electives Teacher Crysta Hines crysta_hines@dpsnc.net
    Classified Staff Rep Chimere Johnson shiquita_johnson@dpsnc.net
    Support Faculty Jennifer Hall jennifer_hall@dpsnc.net
    Support Staff Jenny Umbarger jennifer_umbarger@dpsnc.net
    6th Grade Parent Rep Jerome Leathers JeromeLeathers@gmail.com
    7th Grade Parent Rep Nancy Dias diasn17@ecu.edu
    8th Grade Parent Rep Donna Hatcher donnahatcher@bellsouth.net
Last Modified on April 11, 2021