Standardized Testing


    Overview: EOG and NCFE
    EOG and NCFE
    The No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act of 2002 requires all public schools to administer End of Grade (EOG) tests in Math and Reading to all students. North Carolina's 8th graders must also take a Science EOG.

    In 2010, North Carolina won a "Race to the Top" grant, which additionally mandates that all NC public school districts administer standardized tests called NC Final Exam (NCFE) in Social Studies to all students. Students in the 6th and 7th grade must also take an NCFE in Science.

    The purpose of the EOGs is to determine whether or not each child is mastering curriculum objectives at a similar pace as their peers. This determination is made by evaluating the change in EOG scores from year to year. We refer to this change as "student growth. Students receive scale scores as well as Achievement Levels for each EOG, which become part of each student's permanent school record. Achievement Levels indicate how well students have mastered subject-specific skills:

    • Achievement Level 5 = superior mastery
    • Achievement Level 4 = advanced mastery
    • Achievement Level 3 = satisfactory mastery
    • Achievement Level 2 = inconsistent mastery
    • Achievement Level 1 = no mastery


    How Families Can Help
    Our teachers work hard to ensure our students' success, but there are a few things you can do to help your child be successful, too!

    • Make sure students do not miss school on any testing days.
    • Don't schedule any doctor or dentist appointments for the morning of the test.
    • Talk with your student(s) about any anxieties they may be experiencing.
    • Review test taking strategies.
    • Make sure students get a good night's sleep.
    • Provide them with a healthy breakfast.
    • Make sure that they arrive at school on time.
    • Smile and give encouragement!