Drivers Education Classes

Drivers education in Durham Public Schools is a state-funded program to help students learn to drive safely and with confidence. Completion of the course also allows a student to earn a level two provisional license according to the North Carolina graduated license law. 

There are some changes to the DPS driver education program for this upcoming school year!   Each of our high schools will use the “lottery” for students to be in a classroom driver education session. 

The cost of the class will be $45.  Due to the fact there have been a large number of returned checks – you may pay the $45 by “money order” that is made out to “Durham Public Schools” or $45 in cash – no checks will be accepted. The $45 is paid on the first day of class! 



Eligibility

Students must be:

  • at least 14 ½ years old and under the age of 18
  • enrolled in  a public, private, charter, or home school
  • eligible to receive an driver eligibility certificate 

Students who have failed two or more courses the previous semester are not eligible.

Questions?

919-560-3702

NOTE: If you do not see any classes listed, the classes have not been set yet.  Please check back periodically.

Drivers Ed School Contacts

David Roberson, district contact
919-560-3702
 
  J. D. Clement Early College    Charles Phipps       charles.phipps-jr@dpsnc.net    
  Hillside High   Susan Clements       susan.clements@dpsnc.net    
  Jordan High   Kim Annas       kim.annas@dpsnc.net   
  Northern High   Shannon Parsons      shannon.parsons@dpsnc.net    
  Southern High   Dorothy Daniel      dorothy.daniel@dpsnc.net 
  City of Medicine   Keith Longmire       nelson.longmire@dpsnc.net    
  Riverside High   Mike Whitfield      michael.whitfield@dpsnc.net        
 Durham School of the Arts  Chad Aharon  chad.aharon@dpsnc.net
 Voyager Academy Thomas Hanchey thomas.hanchey@dpsnc.net
 Durham Academy Charles Phipps charles.phipps-jr@dpsnc.net  
CLOSE