Meet your Board of Education

  • Looking for the schedule of Board meetings? See the upcoming events at the bottom of this page.

    Durham's Board of Education consists of seven non-partisan members. One member is elected at-large, four are elected from specific districts, and two are elected from consolidated districts. Board members serve four-year staggered terms.

    Board members are paid a regular monthly stipend of $800 per month; the chairman receives $900 per month. Board members are also reimbursed travel expenses incurred for attending workshops or conferences or for conducting official board business.  

    The Board of Education elects a chairperson and vice-chairperson to serve one-year terms. The superintendent of schools acts as an ex officio member of the board and serves as secretary of the board.

    For questions about the Board or any upcoming meetings, contact June Snyder, Board liaison, at 919-560-2502 or june.snyder@dpsnc.net.

    Contact the Board of Education directly by emailing BOE@dpsnc.net.

Mike Lee
 
Mike Lee, Chair
District 1
919-241-8009
mike.lee@dpsnc.net
Natalie Beyer  
Natalie Beyer, Vice Chair
District 4
919-382-2823
natalie.beyer@dpsnc.net
Xavier Cason
 
Xavier Cason
Consolidated District B
919-323-1691
xavier.cason@dpsnc.net 
Bettina Umstead
 
Bettina Umstead
District 2
984-219-2332
Minnie Forte-Brown

Minnie Forte-Brown
Consolidated District A
919-452-2177
minnie.forte-brown@dpsnc.net 

Matt Sears
 
Matt Sears
District 3
919-389-1867
matt.sears@dpsnc.net
 
Steve Unruhe
 
Steve Unruhe 
At Large
919-495-7918 
steven.unruhe@dpsnc.net 
 

Board Meeting Schedule

View Calendar
CLOSE