Popular Links

Durham Public Schools Legislative Agenda

DPS Board of Education Priorities

The following items reflect the DPS Board of Education priorities for the 2011 legislative season. They fall into two categories: funding and non-funding issues. We see these as critical to the progress of our students and staff. We fully recognize the difficult decisions faced by legislators throughout North Carolina and the painful funding choices caused by the current financial environment. The support and diligence of our local delegation, and all state leaders, is greatly appreciated.

Download the Agenda in PDF Format.

Critical State Funding Agenda

Restore:

The sales tax refund for public schools or enact an exemption.

Maintain:

Flexible use of lottery funds.

Eliminate:

LEA adjustment/discretionary reduction.

Teaching and Learning Agenda

Seek:

Legislation that will not increase class size

Replace:

Existing school calendar law with one that provides increased authority and flexibility to local education agencies.

Maintain:

the statewide cap on charter schools. Implement countywide cap on charter schools. Ensure equity of access and services for all charter school students and accountability for public funds.

Our Leadership

State Representatives

 
Larry Hall, 29th District
417B Legislative Building
919-733-5872
Larry.Hall@ncleg.net

Henry M. Michaux, Jr. ,
31st District
1227 Legislative Building
Phone: 919-715-2528
Mickey.Michaux@ncleg.net 
Paul Luebke, 30th District
529 Legislative Building
919-733-7663
Paul.Luebke@ncleg.net

W. A. (Winkie) Wilkins, 55th District
1301 Legislative Building
Phone: 919-715-0850
Winkie.Wilkins@ncleg.net

State Senators

 
Bob Atwater, 18th District
312 Legislative Building
(919) 715-3036
Bob.Atwater@ncleg.net
Floyd B. McKissick, Jr., 20th
621 Legislative Building
(919) 733-4599
Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net

DPS Board of Education

 
Minnie M. Forte-Brown, Chair
1612 Merrick Street
Durham, NC 27701
919-682-7393
minnie.forte-brown@dpsnc.net

Heidi Carter, Vice Chair
31 Falling Water Drive
Durham, NC 27713
919-490-0513
heidi.carter@dpsnc.net

Natalie Beyer
2206 Hayfield Drive
Durham, NC
919-383-2823
natalie.beyer@dpsnc.net

Pastor Fredrick A. Davis
1311 Morehead Avenue
Durham, NC 27707
919-544-4999
fredrick.davis@dpsnc.net

Omega Curtis Parker
111 Oakmont Avenue
Durham, NC 27713
919-544-3455
omega.curtis-parker@dpsnc.net

Nancy Cox
4 Falcon Nest Court
Durham, NC 27713
919-419-6369
nancy.cox@dpsnc.net
Leigh Bordley
1018 Gloria Avenue
Durham, NC 27701
919-683-1179
leigh.bordley@dpsnc.net