Popular Links

End-of-Grade Scoring

What do the scores on the end-of-grade tests mean and how do they affect your student? Following is some basic information about North Carolina tests.

End-of-Grade Test for Grades 3-8

Students in grades 3-8 take reading comprehension and mathematics tests, referred to as the End-of-Grade tests, at the end of the school year. These multiple-choice tests are important as they can affect student promotion and serve as the basis for the state's accountability program. The tests gauge how well students have learned the curriculum outlined in the North Carolina Standard Course of Study for the particular grade in reading and in math. Students are scored using four levels of proficiency:

  • Level 1 performance means insufficient mastery;
  • Level 2 is inconsistent mastery;
  • Level 3 is consistent mastery (at grade level); and
  • Level 4 is superior mastery.

End-of-Course Tests for High School Students

End-of-Course tests are designed to assess the competencies in the curriculum for certain high school-level courses. These tests are administered within the final 10 days (or the equivalent for alternative schedules) of the school term in which the courses are taught. End-of-Course tests are given in 10 subjects: Algebra I, Algebra II, Biology, Chemistry, ELPS (Economic, Legal and Political Systems), English I, Geometry, Physical Science, Physics, and U.S. History.


Students who plan to attend college also take the SAT. This test is administered by the Educational Testing Service. It is not a state-required test, but many universities require it for admission. To prepare for the SAT, students may take the PSAT at state expense in the 10th grade. Community Education offers low-cost SAT Prep Classes at various locations throughout the year. A limited number of students who plan to attend college also take the ACT, administered by ACT Publishing Company. It is not a state-required test, but some universities require it for admission.